I'm new to Luxor4u

A place for new members to tell the forum members a little bit about themselves and their interest in Luxor.

Moderators: Horus, DJKeefy, 4u Network

Cyprus100
United Kingdom

I'm new to Luxor4u

Post by Cyprus100 » Sat Jul 24, 2010 6:15 pm

Hi everyone

I'm new on this particular forum, only registered officially today but have noseyed around a few times in the past.

Like the rest of you, both me and my husband have a passion for Egypt and our travels first started in 1991 when I surprised him with a 5 night city break to Cairo.

Next stop was 2 weeks in Luxor at the Egotel with his sister, her husband and one of our friends. We spent the first week in and around Luxor on the East & West Bank plus took the overnight train to Cairo with our friend and stayed on Gezira island at the President for 1 night as the train was fully booked for the return journey. This was in the days before the computerised booking system arrived at the railway station!

Two more friends arrived the 2nd week and we all headed off for an early morning trip across the desert for an overnight stay in Hurghada with snorkelling off Giftun island the next day before returning back, nackered but happy the next evening.

A few years later, we did a twin centre with 1 week at the Isis hotel in Luxor and the 2nd at the Isis Island hotel in Aswan. We did the road trip to Abu Simbel early one morning by convoy and managed to kill our minibus and left it with its' prop shaft dragging along behind it somewhere between Abu Simbel and the High Dam!