Why I dislike Trump

Anything that does not fit elsewhere can be discussed here.

Moderators: DJKeefy, 4u Network

newcastle
Egyptian God
Egyptian God
Egypt

Why I dislike Trump

Post by newcastle »

As we wave goodbye to Donald Trump I’ve been reflecting on my visceral antipathy to this guy. I’ve never met him...nor am I likely to do so. I have no great knowledge of whether the direction he’s taken the USA is beneficial to the population of that country.....but the effect on me, personally, must be minimal.

My only exposure to him is what I learn from main stream media ( always to be viewed with some suspicion) and the words and actions of the man himself....displayed abundantly via TV and Twitter.

Why then, along with what appears to be a large proportion of the British population, do I, almost instinctively, dislike the man and am so pleased to see him defeated ( if not rejected) in the US election.

The reason is beautifully summed up by journalist Nate White who , when asked why some Brits so dislike Trump, answered thus :

“A few things spring to mind.

Trump lacks certain qualities which the British traditionally esteem.
For instance, he has no class, no charm, no coolness, no credibility, no compassion, no wit, no warmth, no wisdom, no subtlety, no sensitivity, no self-awareness, no humility, no honour and no grace – all qualities, funnily enough, with which his predecessor Mr. Obama was generously blessed.
So for us, the stark contrast does rather throw Trump's limitations into embarrassingly sharp relief.

Plus, we like a laugh. And while Trump may be laughable, he has never once said anything wry, witty or even faintly amusing – not once, ever.
I don't say that rhetorically, I mean it quite literally: not once, not ever. And that fact is particularly disturbing to the British sensibility – for us, to lack humour is almost inhuman.